

INTERNATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF PLUMBING AND MECHANICAL OFFICIALS

MINUTES

Water Efficiency & Sanitation Standard Technical Committee Meeting IAPMO World HQ – Ontario, CA June 19-20, 2025

Members Present

Representation

Billy Smith, Chair Laura Allen Michael Cudahy **Brian Granger Rich Harlan** Jim Kendzel Gary Klein Pat Lando **Rick Layton** Markus Lenger **James Majerowicz** David Mann David Nickelson Edward Osann **Damon Premer** Phil Ribbs Kyle Thompson Aster Tseng **Charles White**

IAPMO Staff Present

Hugo Aguilar Dan Cole Taylor Duran Enrique Gonzalez Bria Saunders Alma Ramos

Absent Members

Steven Braband Shawn Crawford Paula Kehoe John Koeller Todd Kuchta Avishai Moscovich Beverly Potts Anton Smith Kent Sovocool Amir Tabakh American Society of Plumbing Engineers (ASPE) **Greywater Action Plastic Pipe & Fittings Association UA Plumbers Local 68** UA Local 38 JGK Consulting LLC Gary Klein and Associates, Inc. Recode Haines, Jones & Cadbury, LLC CleanBlu Innovations Inc. Plumbers Local Union 130 UA UA Local 342 Uponor Self ACCO **PHR Consultants Plumbing Manufacturers International** Self PHCC-National Association

Title

Sr. VP of Codes and Standards Sr. Director of Technical Services Staff Liaison, WE♦Stand Technical Committee Manager of Code Development Associate General Counsel Sr. Manager of Codes & Standards

Representation

BioSolutions Inc Rainwater Management Solutions San Francisco Public Utilities Commission Koeller and Company Self Reed Water Illinois PHCC Waiea Water Solutions Inc. Southern Nevada Water Authority City of LA Department of Water and Power



Absent Alternates Taylor Nokhoudian **Representation** San Francisco Public Utilities Commission

- I. Call to Order. The Water Efficiency & Sanitation Standard (WE♦Stand) Technical Committee Meeting was called to order on Thursday, June 19, 2025, at 8:05 A.M. (PT) by the Chair, Billy Smith.
- **II. Chairman Comments.** The Chair, Billy Smith, welcomed all those present to the WE♦Stand Technical Committee Meeting.
- **III. Announcements.** IAPMO staff provided general announcements, reviewed guidelines for the meeting, and discussed the actions permitted for the disposition of proposals.
- **IV. Self-Introductions.** The Chair, Billy Smith, gave a brief introduction and asked those committee members present to introduce themselves.
- V. **Review and Approval of the Agenda.** The Chair, Billy Smith, asked for approval of the agenda. The motion was made and seconded to approve the agenda. The motion passed.
- VI. Approval of Minutes from Previous Meeting (Via teleconference on October 28, 2024). The Chair, Billy Smith, asked for approval of the previous meeting minutes. The motion was made and seconded to approve the minutes. The motion passed.

VII. Report of the Data Center Water Use Task Group.

The Chair, Billy Smith, asked for a brief summary of the WE Stand Data Center Water Use Task Group's actions. The Chair of the Task Group, Ed Osann, provided an overview of the Task Group's scope and the development of recommendations.

VIII. Report of the Ecological Sanitation Systems Task Group.

The Chair, Billy Smith, asked for a brief summary of the WE Stand Ecological Sanitation Systems Task Group's actions. The Chair of the Task Group, Pat Lando, provided an overview of the Task Group's scope and the development of recommendations.

IX. Report of the Gray Water Systems Task Group.

The Chair, Billy Smith, asked for a brief summary of the WE Stand Gray Water Systems Task Group's actions. The Chair of the Task Group, Pat Lando, provided an overview of the Task Group's scope and the development of recommendations.

X. Report of the Log Reduction Targets Task Group.

The Chair, Billy Smith, asked for a brief summary of the WE Stand Log Reduction Targets Task Group's actions. The Chair of the Task Group, Markus Lenger, provided an overview of the Task Group's scope and the development of recommendations.



XI. Report of the Water-Conserving Plumbing Fixtures and Fittings Task Group.

The Chair, Billy Smith, asked for a brief summary of the WE Stand Water-Conserving Plumbing Fixtures and Fittings Task Group's actions. The Chair of the Task Group, Kyle Thompson, provided an overview of the Task Group's scope and the development of recommendations.

XII. Report of the Water Treatment Devices and Systems Task Group.

The Chair, Billy Smith, asked for a brief summary of the WE Stand Water Treatment Devices and Systems Task Group's actions. The Chair of the Task Group, Ilan Aberman, provided an overview of the Task Group's scope and the development of recommendations.

- XIII. Information on the ASHRAE/WE&Stand MOU. Hugo Aguilar provided information on the Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) between ASHRAE and IAPMO pertaining to the joint publication of WE&Stand and ASHRAE 191P.
- XIV. Review of Change Proposals to the WE♦Stand. The committee reviewed and discussed all properly submitted change proposals to the WE♦Stand. Following the meeting, all committee members will confirm their vote via electronic ballot using Higher Logic (Kavi). The results of the ballots will be published in the Report on Proposals (ROP), which will be distributed on September 23, 2025.
- **XV. Other Business.** The following topics were discussed:
 - The committee requested that a working group be formed to review all proposals relating to the ASHRAE/WE Stand MOU.
 - The Chair, Billy Smith, requested that the task groups be reconvened as necessary to review related proposals in the 2025 WE Stand ROP once published, and generate recommendations for Technical Committee consideration in the form of public comments.
 - Dan Cole solicited volunteers towards the development of the Illustrated Training Manual (ITM) to the 2027 WE♦Stand.
- XVI. Next Scheduled Meeting. The next WE♦Stand Technical Committee Meeting will be held on May 13-14, 2026. Once a location is established, IAPMO staff will notify the Technical Committee. For any assistance, please contact IAPMO Staff.
- **XVII. Adjournment.** The Chair, Billy Smith, adjourned the meeting on Friday, June 20, 2025, at 4:35 P.M. (PT).

Respectfully submitted,

James Majerowicz Secretary, WE Stand Technical Committee